Bubbling Mud Pools, Fumaroles, and All-Time Favorites

A seemingly martian landscape is actually Hverarönd, Iceland (Aug. 2008).

[Scroll down now if you just want to see the other two pictures taken in Hverarönd, Iceland.]

Of all the photographs I’ve taken, this is one of my favorites. I love beautiful photos. They’re so calming, pleasing, uplifting, and so many other positive -ings. I’ve come across a number of my all-time favorites lately, because I’ve been doing as my husband asked and am FINALLY, after all these years, organizing our past-trip photos.

As I’ve been reliving memories through pictures,  I thought it’s a shame that some really neat photos are essentially being kept at the back of a dark closet (or in a dusty e-folder?). So I’ve decided to select my favorites and post them here. I’m still new to blogging, so it might take me a bit to get a page up and running. In the end, though, I think it will be great to have one easily accessible place for all my favorites.

Now, from the future to the past…In the last few days I could have used a few more feel-good -ings. In case you didn’t notice, I haven’t posted since Wednesday, which was a glowing post about my trusty sidekick, i.e., my camera, and our 10,000th photograph. I can’t tell you how surprised I was when, on Thursday, my camera started having focusing problems. (Isn’t it ironic?) Have no fear, however, because I’ve got a backlog of trip photos that I can post until the camera problem is solved.

Oh, if life were so simple. I was working on a post about Sudeley Castle on Thursday evening (yes, the same day my camera went on the fritz) when my computer froze, then started flashing windows and doomsday, death-to-my-hard-drive, loss-of-all-my-files-and-my-first-born warnings. I ran upstairs and woke my poor husband up from a deep sleep so that he could solve my computer EMERGENCY! He sadly informed me that my computer had been infected with malware and, although my data was safe (he would back everything up in safe mode before fixing the malware problem) it would take some time for him to fix things and 1 am on a workday was not the best time.

With Friday came the serendipitous arrival of my new camera. I wasn’t expecting it to arrive for a few more weeks, but it came just in time for our weekend trip to Cheddar Gorge and Wells, England. When I ordered my new camera I had no idea that my old camera was about to fail; I just thought it was time for an upgrade. How handy my new camera was these last two days.

I’m back from our wonderful, weekend getaway and am very happy to say that this evening, at 8:09 pm, my husband handed me back my freshly scrubbed, clean-behind-the-ears computer. YIPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! (Can you tell how excited I am?)

Because my Sudeley Castle post won’t be ready for publication until tomorrow, I’ll finish this post with two more interesting photos taken in Hverarönd, Iceland.

I think this photo is self-explanatory, but just in case it’s not, it’s a close-up of a bubbling mud pool.

Fumaroles are volcanic vents spewing hot, sulphurous gases. As pretty as those white plumes might be, think billowing stench of rotten eggs. The place smelled nasty. Although I can’t say I enjoyed the odor, it certainly added to the surreal atmosphere, making Hverarönd unlike any other place I’ve ever been.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Destinations, Iceland, Landscape, Nature, Photography, Scenic and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bubbling Mud Pools, Fumaroles, and All-Time Favorites

  1. leah says:

    Good that you got a new camera in time! Bummer about those tech issues you had. I forgot to post on your last post that somewhere I read that ‘you should throw away your first 10,000 photos, they get good after that’…not saying anything against your skills, but encouraging you that you have passed that magic number according to some random photography site :)

Your Comments Are Welcome

