Beginnings

Alaska Railroad

Upon leaving the United States, I had every good intention of starting a blog of my foreign travels and experiences. Now, six months on, I have gobs of photos and already-softening memories. For goodness sake, it’s time to get this blog going! My hope is to capture snapshots of my travels and some commentary on life in the UK.

Because photography will play an important role in a travel-and-experiences blog, I am determined to improve my amateur photography skills. To that end, I chose to undertake John Hedgecoe’s Complete Guide to Photography: A step-by-step course from the world’s best-selling photographer (if he doesn’t say so himself). This book, selected after extensive research (i.e., breezing through the titles on a used-bookstore shelf and selecting the most modern looking book sleeve), includes 70 projects. I intend to work my way through the book until I have “mastery of advanced techniques.” Care to join me?

Lesson number one – SHAPE: Someone should be able to recognize the photographed object by shape alone.

Part 1: Produce a silhouette of any person or object that has a strong and interesting shape.

Prague Metronome

The Metronome: A giant, kinetic sculpture by Vratislav Karel Novák, in Letná Park, Prague, Czech Republic (Dec. 2011).

Part 2: Take a set of photos where shape is the dominant element with other elements playing a subsidiary role.

Geometric shape:

Dancing Buildings in Prague

The Dancing Building, Prague, Czech Republic (Dec. 2011). Can you tell which is Fred and which is Ginger?

Dynamic shape:

Tree near Binibassi, Mallorca

Binibassi, Near Fornalutx, Mallorca, Spain (Feb. 2012).

Shape vs. color:

Cat eyeing carrot toy

Lowly carrot or favorite toy and comforting piece of home?

Shape vs. pattern:

Sculpture in Palma, Mallorca

Sculpture at Es Baluard Museum Terrace, Palma, Mallorca, Spain (Feb. 2012).

So ends blog entry number one.

[Note: I took the picture of the railroad tracks in Alaska, September 2004, but it seems to fit the subject, so I claim artistic license.]

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in Alaska, All Posts, Animals, Buildings, Destinations, Europe, Expat Life, Landscape, Mallorca, Photography lessons, Prague, Spain, United States and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Beginnings

  1. leiah says:

    I love your photography lessons! A major goal of mine for 2012 is my photography skils, but I have not made much effort (hence not much progress). I *duh* just thought of going to the library for a book…silly me.

    • Sixty-nine more photography lessons to come :). I can tell you have an eye for composition. Some of the photos you’ve taken have been really amazing. I can’t imagine how good of a photographer you’ll be after lessons.

  2. Monique says:

    Hey, saw you on the Busy Nothings Photography Club — cool! Can’t wait to see more of the world through your eye!

  3. Melody says:

    Don’t worry…it took me almost 2 years to start writing somewhat consistently on my blog, so you will get it! 🙂 I too have the same goal this year…good luck! Looking forward to seeing more of your projects. I really like your first photo. Love the tracks, the reflection in the water, and the beautiful blue sky.

    • Thank you for the compliment and encouragement. Blogging is all new to me, but I’m learning every day. Good luck with your photography goal, too. I love your jumping photos. You all look to be having so much fun, which makes me smile.

  4. Steve frasiolas says:

    I love the pictures , I want Moore ..

  5. krisgal says:

    Oh I love this idea for photography lessons! I’m going to have to look into getting that book… sounds like a good one. Thank you for sharing your photo with us at the Busy Nothings Photography Club. I’m really enjoying all of the photos on your blog.

    • Thanks for you comment. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying my photos. I’m very impressed by the photos on your blog. You have a gift for capturing such human moments. And the Busy Nothings Photography Club is a great idea. It’s a wonderful way to find gems that might otherwise have been missed. Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Seeing the Beauty of Life OR Photo Lesson No. 2: FORM | Sat Nav and Cider

  7. fifi says:

    fabulous and beyond….i’m so glad to see that u are really enjoying ur time in the u k and europe the photos are too terriffic!!!

  8. Barry says:

    I liked your pictures very much!!! You are just like a pro.

  9. Pingback: Geirangerfjord, Norway, and Photography Lesson No. 3: Texture | Sat Nav and Cider

  10. Pingback: The Draw of Pattern | Sat Nav and Cider

  11. This is a nice project. I like it! 🙂

  12. Fantastic first photo!! You could start a photo challenge with this project, it’s a fabulous idea!

  13. Pingback: 4 Travel Tips from Our Monday in Palma. Mallorca, Part 6. | Sat Nav and Cider

  14. Pingback: Riverside Prague | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

