Apple Dutch Baby

What better way to start the day than to have a delicious and satisfying breakfast. One of my favorite breakfasts is a puffed pancake made in a cast-iron skillet. I’m not sure if my recipe is authentic enough to be called a Dutch Baby, but I know my recipe makes my mouth water just thinking about it, so whether it’s called a Dutch Baby or a puffed pancake it’ll still taste scrumptious.

The pancake calls for:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (plain flour in the UK)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 large apple, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced (I use a mandolin/mandoline)
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. cardamom (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg (I usually just grate fresh nutmeg by eye) (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp. butter

I’d not tried this recipe since moving to the UK until this morning, but, with a few minor adjustments, it was a success.

First, I needed to preheat the oven to 450° F, but my oven is in celsius and, more than that, it’s fan assisted, which alters cooking temperatures. Thank goodness for the Internet and a handy-dandy conversion chart I found, because it wasn’t long before my fan-assisted oven was preheating to 210° C. (230° C if I’d used a regular oven.) I placed my 12-inch cast-iron skillet in the oven to heat, then prepared the ingredients according to the recipe:

Whisk together the eggs, milk, flour, vanilla extract, and salt until smooth. In a separate bowl, blend the sugar, cinnamon, cardamom, and nutmeg, then toss the apple slices in the sugar-spice mixture to coat.

Once the oven has heated to temperature, carefully remove the skillet from the oven and place it on a trivet or stovetop/hob capable of withstanding the heat. Melt the butter in the skillet, then arrange the apple slices to cover the bottom. Be careful of the hot butter and skillet, but work quickly so the pan does not cool too much. Pour the batter over the apple slices, covering them as much as possible, then return the skillet to the oven. Bake 20-25 minutes or until puffy with golden brown edges.

I actually had to pull mine out after about 15 minutes, because my oven was too hot. (The conversion is not exact, so I’ll have to play with the temperature a bit.)

Some people serve with confectioner’s/powdered sugar (called icing sugar here), but I like mine with warm, real maple syrup.

Mmmmm. If I close my eyes I can almost smell and taste it now.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Expat Life, Food, US/UK Differences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Dutch Baby

Your Comments Are Welcome

