Severn Valley and a Full English

View from the outskirts of Littledean, Gloucestershire

River Severn and the village of Newnham on Severn from Pleasant Stile (Sept. 2011).

I can write with confidence that the United Kingdom is a land of great beauty. I have travelled through parts of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, and beauty is not in short supply. I’m not just referring to the land, either. The clouds and sky can be pretty remarkable as well.

Gloucestershire Countryside, United KingdomCountryside on the way to Littledean.

Having witnessed some breathtaking scenery I’d expect at some point to become jaded. But just after arriving in the UK last September, I was in awe once again. We drove around a corner out of Littledean and, as the Severn Valley spread out before me, I felt my throat catch.

View from the outskirts of Littledean, GloucestershireSevern Valley, facing northeast.

View from the outskirts of Littledean, GloucestershireSevern Valley, facing southeast.

Another thing of great beauty…the full English breakfast.

This was my first full English breakfast since moving to the UK. I had it for lunch in Newnham on Severn on the way home. And, no, I absolutely could not finish my meal. Note my hubster’s very sensible salad. It was followed by a partial full English, but even he couldn’t clean my plate.

Jaded? Not even close.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, Expat Life, Food, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Severn Valley and a Full English

  1. Pingback: The Long and the High of It | Sat Nav and Cider

  2. leiah says:

    Fries for breakfast? 😛

    • Chips, actually. (I learned just the other day that French fries here only refer to the matchstick type fries you get at Mc-y D’s or Burger King.) But, yeah. Apparently, chips are perfectly acceptable at any meal or snack. And I thought Americans ate too many French fries!

Your Comments Are Welcome

