My 10,000th Photograph

A Weed Growing Between My Patio Bricks

In England, my appreciation for the sun is a world away from my sunny expectations when living in California. Hence, if it’s sunny in England, I go outside and enjoy it. Today was a beautiful day, so I grabbed my camera and went into my back yard/garden to see if I could find anything interesting to take photos of. I believe I did.

After I uploaded my photos from my camera to my computer, I noticed that my camera had just passed the 10,000th picture. My camera and I have been through and seen a lot. Here’s my trusty sidekick:

And here’s our 10,000th photo:

 Here are a few others from today that I found to be interesting:

These last two pictures were taken in a part of my garden that never sees sunlight (or at least I’m not awake when it does). The area is against the north wall of my garage, so it always seems to be in shadow. I tried to think of a way I could get some light on the shadowed blossoms when a hand-held mirror came to mind. So, with one hand held high, directing the sun’s reflection, and the other holding the camera and pressing the shutter release, this is what my camera and I captured:


All in all, I’m pretty pleased.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Flowers, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My 10,000th Photograph

  1. I love the idea of a hand held mirror. I know when I travel I always have a compact with me. I never would have thought of using it to get light on things that my camera did not want to pick up or to direct light where I want it when I am out and about. Thanks for the great tip. Also the pictures are quite pretty.

  2. Monique says:

    The extreme close-up: I love this way of seeing. That patio weed is amazing!

    • I love extreme close-ups, too. They’re like windows to a wholly different world.

      Thanks about the weed. If you’d like, I’d be okay if you came over to my garden and got a few (dozen) to take home with you. 😉

  3. Pingback: Bubbling Mud Pools, Fumaroles, and All-Time Favorites | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

