A Glorious Day

Today is cloudy and gloomy, marking the end to almost a week of absolutely spectacular, sunny, and pleasant weather. It’s already making me appreciate the moments captured in these photos, which I took yesterday while out and about.

Is it me, or does this flower have lips?

I was taking a picture of the telephone booths because, well, they’re so British, when this gentleman emerged. I’ve never been in one of these, so I’m happy to know they still work.

While enjoying lunch on an outdoor terrace overlooking a pedestrian area, I tested out my new telephoto lens when I took this photo of a young man who was performing across the way. He was one of the better performers I’ve heard and sang with so much emotion. Too bad photographs can’t capture sound, too. (Oh, right. Then it would be called a video.)

I’ve seen posters of pictures like this, but never actually saw a bike with flowers in its basket. I guess I just needed to move to Europe.

Many people were out in the park enjoying the beautiful weather. This little boy was no exception. I wish I had the energy of that child.

Coming in for a landing, and…

Ahhhh!

I love what’s been done beside a string of townhouses. How elegant.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, Expat Life, Flowers, Insects, Nature, Photography, United Kingdom, US/UK Differences and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Glorious Day

  1. You’re right – these are very British sights. I particularly like the phone boxes. You won’t find many around any more though …. and the ones there are have changed so much, they even give an option to use a credit card! I remember when you could put 10p in the slot and talk for ages! But that would have also been when you could get a plate of chips for sixpence – and they would be wrapped in newspaper !!

    Ah, times they are a-changing 🙂

    • Chips for sixpence?! Can you buy anything for that these days? Shortly after we arrived, I bought a 99p ice cream. How silly of me to be shocked that a 99p actually cost well over a pound.

  2. avian101 says:

    The glorious day was well documented by your excellent photos! 🙂

  3. These photos look so lovely and make me realise I really should have taken my camera out more while the weather’s been so fine. I just tend to get a little carried away and run out the door too fast to remember! You’ve got some gorgeous photos here though and many of them quintessentially British 🙂

    • I started feeling the same way as I saw things I would have loved to take a picture of, but no way to do it. I now keep my camera in my purse so I have it if the mood strikes. I’m hoping we have more nice days ahead for your photographing enjoyment. (This is a totally unselfish comment ;))
      And thank you so much for the compliments!

  4. leah says:

    Some great shots! The one of the flowers with ‘lips’ is my favorite. Yes, same weather here. I am really cold right now!

    • Thanks! The “lips” are one of my favorites, too. The flower clusters were so pretty, so I leaned in close to take a photo and couldn’t help but to laugh. Not every center had “lips,” but most did. Shall I name it the kissing plant?

      I am happy to write that our weather changed. Around mid-afternoon the cloud cover either burned off or moved away to leave behind another sunny (although chillier) day. I hope you get warm and sunny weather soon.

  5. What a gorgeous day! I love the picture of the elderly gentleman leaving the phone booth!

  6. beingjulz says:

    What a glorious collection! Love them all! The boy, the man in the phone booth, the bee coming in for a landing… and like you, I’ve seen pics of bikes with baskets of flowers, now I know where to actually find them. Thank you so much for this lovely stroll on a dreary day.

Your Comments Are Welcome

