Bacon and Brie…OMG!

Bacon Brie Cranberry BaguetteI had my first bacon, brie, and cranberry sandwich not long after I moved to England. It was love at first bite. Have you ever tried a bacon and brie sandwich? If not, you may just be missing out on one of the simple pleasures in life. I’m not even a huge cheese fan, but I love these sandwiches! They’re the perfect combination of savory, salty, and sweet. They’re crunchy and creamy and chewy and…mmmmmm. Oh, and they’re super simple to make at home.

Bacon Brie Sandwich IngredientsHere’s what you’ll need:

  • Crusty bread: I use a bake-and-serve baguette for that fresh-out-of-the-oven experience, but you can use a regular baguette, ciabatta, or any other bread that will crisp up in the oven. If you use bake-and-serve, cook per directions before continuing with assembly instructions.
  • Bacon: rasher bacon is commonly used here, but streaky bacon (regular American bacon) would also work.
  • Brie cheese: ‘nuf said.
  • Cranberry sauce (or chutney): optional

That’s it!

Raw Rasher BaconHere you can see rasher bacon close up. The tail end under the label looks a lot like streaky bacon.

Cooked Rasher BaconI cook my rasher bacon in the oven, keeping an eye on it and turning the slices over once, pulling them out of the oven when they’ve reached my desired doneness. You might like them crispier or less crispy, so I’ll leave the timing to you. Feel free to pat off the excess fat with a paper towel.

Slice bread lengthwise. If you’re using cranberry sauce (or chutney), spread cranberry sauce (or chutney) on the inside of one side of the bread, top with slices of bacon, top the bacon with slices of brie cheese, then put the other side of the bread on top of the whole lot. Put the sandwich in the oven just long enough to warm the bread and melt the cheese until soft, but not dripping. You could also use a panini press, but I don’t have one; however…

Costa Bacon Brie Onion PaniniCosta Coffee  makes a really nice bacon, brie, and onion chutney panini on a ciabatta roll. My favorite bacon and brie sandwich is with the cranberry sauce, but with chutney or without any sauce is still fine with me.

If you try a bacon and brie sandwich, please let me know what you think and, if it is possible that you have a sandwich you like even better, then that’s a sandwich I’d like to meet. Bon appetit!

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, England, Expat Life, Food, United Kingdom, US/UK Differences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bacon and Brie…OMG!

  1. leiah says:

    Sounds GREAT! I had an apple, brie, honey, pine nut sandwich-delish!!! Or replae the brie with goat cheese…yum.

  2. One of my favorites is brie, bacon, and apricot preserves. I’ll have to try one with cranberry!

  3. Gunta says:

    Sounds like a fantastic combo!

  4. Kash says:

    I bet this would also work well with turkey bacon. I have to eat something now – this post has made me hungry 🙂

  5. I will try this recipe!

  6. Monique says:

    How have we not gone for lunch at Tiffin’s, yet? My first intro to this nom-worthy sandwich, and still my fav. Droooooooling….

  7. Omg- I will definitely be making this in the near future! Thank you for showing us how! Something nice about simple and delicious sandwiches. Even though it’s very basic, I always love getting “le Parisian” baguette sandwich in France…just butter and ham but mon dieu it’s good!

Your Comments Are Welcome

