Railway Through Alaskan Wilderness

Railway through Alaskan Wilderness, AlaskaAlaska (Sept. 2004).

I took this photo on a train ride between Anchorage and Fairbanks. We were very fortunate to have traveled during such a colorful time of year with such nice weather.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in Alaska, All Posts, Landscape and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Railway Through Alaskan Wilderness

  1. BobR says:

    Nice shot. I have a plan (a level or two beyond ‘tentative’ at the moment 🙂 ) to make it to Alaska next year. What was early September like weather-wise further north?

    • Thanks! The farthest north we got was Fairbanks. The days were chilly, but not cold. A fleece was enough (no gloves) unless the weather was not cooperating. We wore our ski jackets in the evenings (our only coats). September was great because of pretty good weather and daylight and very colorful foliage.

  2. Pit says:

    Now that’s another trip still on my bucket list.

    • It’s still on my bucket list! I saw the Aurora Borealis but only faintly. I must see it in all its splendor and, even without the Northern Lights, I would love to visit Alaska again one day. I hope you make it to Alaska. It’s incredible.

  3. AMAZING picture! Alaska is a state I have to see…my husband wants to move there. I’m thinking a trip first is in order. 🙂

Your Comments Are Welcome

