Olympic Torch Relay UK Style

Olympic TorchThis is Lydia Holt. She is a remarkable young lady who was nominated and selected to be a local torchbearer, but I’ll tell you a little about her later. For now, just notice the expression on her face.

We were very fortunate to be able to watch a portion of the Olympic Torch Relay and, happily, crowd watching was almost as much fun as seeing the torch pass by. So before we get to the torch, how about a look at the pre-torch view?

Olympic Torch HatOver an hour before the torch’s estimated arrival time and the truly dedicated were already well situated and well stocked.

Olympic Torch OutfitAnd well dressed. At least I thought this outfit was perfect for the festive occasion. I mean, to top it all off…a fascinator! How very British.

Olympic Torch Girls

Party! Child style.

Olympic Torch Wine

Party! Adult style.

Olympic Torch Crowd

The far end of the road seemed to have a much denser crowd than on our end.

Olympic Torch Spring ManFor a bit, we were entertained by a very spry man. I wish I had the guts to strap on those contraptions. It looks like fun, but I value my skin too much.

Olympic Torch Cheerleaders

Then came the cheerleaders. Woo hoo! But what I really liked was the giant video screen on the side of the bus.

Olympic Torch Convoy

I wonder which companies are sponsoring the Olympics this year.

Olympic Torch Flag

The buses and entertainment had passed and then there was calm. At one point I heard someone say the torch was on one of the buses and we missed it.

Street on Olympic Torch Route

But crowd control was still doing their best to control the crowd, so we continued to wait and anticipate.

Policeman in Olympic Torch EventWe knew the torch had to be close. Gotta love the bike!

Olympic Torch

And, finally, here’s lovely Lydia carrying the Olympic torch. Dancing ballet since she was three, the now fourteen-year-old Lydia studies at a leading full-time ballet school. Already she has performed with the English National Ballet at the Royal Albert Hall and with St. Petersburg Ballet in Paris and toured with the Birmingham Royal Ballet. Her grace and enthusiasm made the experience particularly enjoyable to watch.

Did you notice Lydia’s toes? Take a closer look…

Olympic Torch

She’s practically floating. And her face! I couldn’t help but smile.

Olympic Torch

It was all over far too quickly. But at least we will always have the memories of this historic event.

Olympic Torch Passed

It feels real now; I can’t wait for the Games to start.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Olympics, United Kingdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Olympic Torch Relay UK Style

  1. Gunta says:

    Lucky you, being there! (I had to look up “fascinator” 😉 )

  2. leah says:

    And what was YOUR flashy outfit? ;P You gotta be brave to wear a fascinator…I have a fascinator headbad that I rarely wear. Great photos!

    • Me, flashy? I don’t even use the flash on my camera. 😉 And I have yet to invest in a fascinator (and by yet I mean most likely never). But please wear the fascinator when I visit. Now, I must see it.
      I’m glad you liked the photos. I’d hoped for better, but I had no control over the bunting-placement committee’s decisions.

Your Comments Are Welcome

