Swan Landing on Lough Leane

Swan landing on Lough Leane, Co. Kerry, IrelandI’ve only seen a few swans in my time and never had I seen one land until just a few days ago at Ross Castle near Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland. Watching the swan touch down on Lough Leane (Killarney’s lower lake) was hard to miss as it was quite a spectacle. I’m very pleased that I was able to catch the final moments with my camera.

Here’s a close up of the action:

Swan landing on Lough Leane, Co. Kerry, IrelandI like both photos for different reasons. After mulling it over for far too long, I decided to post both. Do you prefer one photo over the other and, if so, why?

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Animals, Ireland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Swan Landing on Lough Leane

  1. andreashesse says:

    I would prefer the one above. While the second one is having more details, the other one provides more atmosphere of the lake.

  2. I like them both…stacked…..showing the same image…one perceptively closely than the other. My preference is the second image. It shows the force of the landing. The “wake” of the swan is marvelous!!! Nicely done. (You could have done a third image…showing just the *wake*…and perhaps a portion of the swan? The progression of landing/water would be stunning, and since the images would follow each other the abstractness of the third would be the icing on the cake…so to speak. [Sorry….once on art teacher always an art teacher…pushing the envelope.]

    Your snaps are always well done in any event. I look forward to your posts.

  3. Pit says:

    Both are excellent and both have their merits. I’m absolutely in two minds which I’d prefer. As Andreas says, the first shows more of the atmosphere of the lake. And I also think that there the 2/3 rule [is it that?] is followed better, with the swan more in the bottom left quadrant of the picture. But then, in the second one you can so very clearly see nearly very single droplet: fantastic!
    Conclusion: I think your idea of posting both was just the right thing.

    • Pit, I appreciate your thougthful and complimentary comments and conclusion. And I’m glad to read that you like both photos. Perhaps there’s a reason why I struggled to choose between the two.

  4. leah says:

    2nd one…I like close ups 🙂 It’s a great shot! I love the action in it.

Your Comments Are Welcome

