Rain Clouds Rolling Over the Cotswolds

Clouds over the CotwoldsBased on the weather report, I was expecting sunny skies when some friends and I visited Snowshill’s Cotswold Lavender, “growers and distillers of the finest English lavender.” Why I would ever trust a weather report in England, I don’t know. Wishful thinking, perhaps.

We arrived to find bits of blue sky, but clouds were rolling in. We took a few photos before the first drops of rain began to fall. Umbrellas were left in the car, so we moved quickly to the on-site cafe to enjoy a warm beverage and some treats, including several infused with locally grown lavender. It was a long but enjoyable wait before we ventured out into the fields once again.

More photos of Cotswold Lavender fields to come…

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, Landscape and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rain Clouds Rolling Over the Cotswolds

  1. Pit says:

    I do wish we had some – plenty, that is – rain here. We do have clouds like yours, but it simplky doesn’t rain. Well maybe a few drops here and there, but that’s all.
    As to the weather forecast: it’s not only in Britain that they’re not always reliable. I remember a joke from quite some time back, when I was still living in Germany. there’s this weather person on tv, and he goes, “Before I start with our weather forecast for tomorrow, let me first correct the one for today and apologize for yesterday’s.”
    Enjoy the British weather: it’s better than what is rumoured about it. 😉
    Best regards from dry and hot southern Texas,
    Pit

    • Thanks for your comment, Pit. It sounds like the US is really getting hit in the bad weather department right now. I wish I could send some of our rain your way. I hope you all get a break soon.
      I like your TV weatherman joke. Yes, it would work equally well here.

  2. Looks like a Constable sky…obviously he was beset by the weather gremlins too!

  3. Vicky says:

    Ooo, does that mean the lavender is now in bloom?

    • Yes and no. Some varieties were blooming, but others were still completely green. The ticket lady said that peak is expected around the second or third week of July and possibly later, because of the poor weather. However, she also said that if we get a few warm, sunny days in a row, things might pop much quicker. Even without all the blooms I was able to get some really nice photos.

  4. If I could *like* this more than once….I would!

  5. Pingback: The English Adventure Continues…In Yorkshire | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

