Bruges’ Tallest Tower Two Ways

Church of Our Lady Tower, Bruges, BelgiumChurch of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk), Bruges, Belgium.

Recently, I posted a photo of the Dijver Canal with the Church of Our Lady‘s Tower in the distance. This post is getting up close and personal, viewing Bruges’ tallest tower in color and in black and white.

Church of Our Lady Tower, Bruges, BelgiumThe “two ways” in the title could refer to experiencing the church tower in color and in B&W, but it also could refer to focusing on the significance of the building versus focusing on photographic technique. Photo lesson “Project 11: Black and white or colour” explores how the interpretation of a subject changes with the use or lack of color. Between the two versions, one seems older, colder, and more ominous. By changing the medium, the viewer’s experience of the subject matter is changed.

My husband prefers the color version and I lean towards the black and white. Which do you prefer and why?

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Belgium, Buildings, Photography lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bruges’ Tallest Tower Two Ways

  1. Wow! That is cool! I really like the photos!

  2. Pit says:

    I prefer the colour photo, but I’m at a loss to say why. Sorry: absolutely no idea. Should I call it a “gut feeling”? Or is it just laziness, not to think about my reasons? I don’t know.
    But whatever: great pictures!
    Have a good one,
    Pit
    P.S.: I rarely do b/w myself, only for a few selected pictures [http://fc-foto.de/21993854]. If I change the colour, I usually prefer sepia [http://fc-foto.de/16167905]

    • My husband read your comment and said, “Yes! Exactly.” He’s going with the gut feeling, too. I took a look at the two photos in your links and enjoyed them both. The sepia does make for a different feel. Gotta love that rooster checking out the people while standing above a steer (?) scull.

  3. RMW says:

    I like both for different reasons.
    The color version is obviously beautiful and shows off the various materials used in the construction. The brick on the tower in the foreground and possibly terracotta used for the tower in the background. I love the turqouise color of the reflection in the windows. And that little splodge of pink (a door or window) that attracts the eye at left center and helps guide our view upwards.
    The b&w version is very dramatic. The tower in the forefront seems to be jabbing directly at the gathering ominous clouds above (whih are not at all ominous in the color version). In the b&w version I am more aware of the dark and light contrasts of the windows and the stones. And the upward linear quality of the buildings is more striking.
    This is a truly wonderful picture with great composition and I could go on and on. Personally, I always enjoy architecture more than landscape photos.

  4. leiah says:

    Hard to choose. It seems that you notice the spikes and top of it in the bw photo.

  5. Barbara Backer-Gray says:

    I agree with RMW.

  6. Pingback: Tower Over Minnewater | Sat Nav and Cider

  7. val maier says:

    black and white, give some more contras, underexposed a bit and gonna be dramatic

Your Comments Are Welcome

