The Churchill Arms Pub

Churchill Arms PubThe Churchill Arms Pub and Thai Kitchens, London, United Kingdom.

Rick Steves recommends the Churchill Arms pub and Thai Kitchens (same location at 119 Kensington Church Street) as a good place to eat in London (Rick Steves’ Great Britain, 2011). Thai food is served in a tropical hideaway in the back or in the “atmospheric” pub where traditional pub food is also available. Apparently, the pub is decorated with Churchill memorabilia as well as chamber pots. Two interesting combinations.

We did not dine here, so I cannot comment on the quality of the food, but (speaking of interesting combinations) I could not resist capturing an image of the most garish, chaotic use of flowers as decoration that I’ve ever seen. As far as advertising goes, the facade did stop me in my tracks, so I’ll give the pub that. Too bad it wasn’t mealtime?

What do you think? Do you love it or is it just too much? Would the facade entice you to go inside or just make you want to stop and stare?

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Buildings, Flowers, London and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Churchill Arms Pub

  1. That’s just awesome. I’m a wimp when it comes to culinary adventure (I like really plain food) but I think I’d definitely go in and order a beer (right after I took a picture like this).

    • I do regret not peeking inside at the very least, but sometimes the hubster is on a mission and my getting a picture is an achievement. Maybe next time… I’m glad you got a kick out of it. 🙂

  2. Barbara Backer-Gray says:

    Oh, I would definitely want to go in. Have a Thai meal served in a chamberpot, along with a good lukewarm cider! And take pictures like crazy!

  3. I think it’s a bit much in that environment, but I would still have to go in, if for nothing more than to satisfy my curiosity.

  4. Local says:

    Churchill Arms is the perfect destination for a Thai meal in Notting Hill any evening all year around, and although I don’t like “old-mans pubs” in general I LOVE a pint in here!

Your Comments Are Welcome

