Fertile Magnolia Tree

Magnolia Tree Seed PodMagnolia Tree Seed Pod, Batsford Arboretum, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom.

While visiting the Batsford Arboretum in mid-September, I happened upon a most dramatic tree. It had long, bright red seed pods with a somewhat quilted-looking texture and warty-looking bumps set off against rich green, roundish leaves. I did not know what this tree was, but I was fascinated. It’s possible that the tree had a marker somewhere, but I forgot to even look after I inspected tree growths unlike any I’d ever seen before.

Magnolia Tree Seed PodTo find such a remarkable tree at Batsford may not be an uncommon experience, because the arboretum contains over 2850 labeled specimens, including about 1300 different trees, shrubs, and bamboo, with an emphasis on plants and trees from the Far East.

Once home, I realized my mistake in failing to find out about this tree while at the arboretum, but the trusty Internet came through (after umpteen searches using every search term I could think of). I found an image of a similar pod and identified the tree as a magnolia.

Magnolia Tree Seed PodHowever, not all varieties of magnolia trees have seed pods that look like this. I don’t know what variety of magnolia tree this one is, but it sure is a stunner.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, Nature, Photography, Trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fertile Magnolia Tree

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  2. Sarah says:

    Re the Fertile Magnolia Tree.
    It is a magnolia sargentiana robusta. I made the same mistake of not taking down the name, found your pictures whilst trying to find out what it was. Ended up going back to Nymans to find the label.

Your Comments Are Welcome

