Forest Shadows and Light

Forest Shadows and Light, Near Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, United KingdomOn a walk to Belas Knap, located just outside Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, my husband and I passed though a wooded area just south of the road to Charlton Abbots. During our ascent, I stopped to pull my drooping sock out of my shoe (and catch my breath), then turned to see this play of shadow and light.

It’s funny how, sometimes on outing, moments of the journey are just as memorable as the destination. Has this happened to you, too?

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, Nature, Photography, Trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Forest Shadows and Light

  1. feckthisshit says:

    Awesome shot!!

  2. Yet another stunning photo!
    The journey being more interesting than the destination…. something that had happened to me fairly often! The most memorable was visiting London zoo. The walk through Regents park was beautiful, idyllic, full of the park’s unusual birds. Then the zoo itself was a smelly let-down that almost entirely consisted of empty cages! What a great lesson that you should always take time to enjoy the journey.

    • ColorInk says:

      Yes, it happened to me many times too! Most memorable to me was once in Thailand, when I was suddenly stopped by the sunset. Beams were falling on the water and made an unusual view, because, don’t know why, everything around shined in some yellow-green light.

    • I’m sure I shouldn’t laugh at your misfortune, but I was so not expecting to read that the London zoo was a smelly-let down. Good to know, though! It’s nice that you have the beautiful memories of the walk through the park to offset the disappointment that followed. Thank you for sharing (and for putting a smile on my face).

  3. We always walk around DC. You miss so much if you dont walk. Miss the woods sometimes tho. Awesome pics

  4. keepasec says:

    Beautiful moments happened at the unexpected moment has always been a pleasant surprise. ….

Your Comments Are Welcome

