Irish Sheep

Sheep on Slea Head Drive, Dingle Peninsula, IrelandSheep gazing out to sea along Slea Head Drive on the Dingle Peninsula, Ireland.

When I was a teenager I visited Great Britain and Ireland and fell in love with the sheep. While in Scotland, I purchased two mini sheep (about 3 inches tall) with felt-covered legs and faces and fluffy, wooly coats. For many years those two sheep stood on my dresser top reminding me of the sheep of my holiday. Those sheep are now safely in storage until I return to the States. After all, I don’t need daily reminders in my home when I get to see real sheep so regularly in my dreams-turned-reality life.

These images are just a few of sheep I saw while in Ireland.

Sheep Near Cahergall Stone Fort, Cahersiveen, Co Kerry, IrelandI don’t think I’ve ever seen another ewe looking as regal as this lady did while caring for her young.

Sheep on Slea Head Drive, Dingle Peninsula, IrelandSmall steps for a parent may be mighty obstacles for a little one, but knowing that the effort to keep up is how the lamb learns and grows strong makes the struggle a source of endearment.

Lamb Near Cahergall Stone Fort, Cahersiveen, Co Kerry, IrelandAs if cute, little lambs need any help in the endearment department. I “awww”ed; did you?

Two photos were taken near Slea Head Drive and the other two were taken near Cahergall Stone Fort.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Animals, Ireland, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Irish Sheep

  1. I like sheep too. The sheep is one of my favorite animals. When I have been in Australia and England, I had to take photos of them if I’ve met them. I really like the last one on your post, the lamb on green grass… so cute and peaceful.

  2. RMW says:

    It was after one of my visits in the spring, with lambs all over the countryside in England, Scotland and Wales, that I gave up eating any and all four-legged animals. And growing up in England, one of my favorite dishes used to be lamb chops with mint sauce!

  3. coast72 says:

    Don’t share your passion with the sheep , but did fell in love with your first image, the composition, the colours and those sheep just gazing into the distance over the water..wish I was one o them

  4. ColorInk says:

    Nice amimals they are! Little lambs are so pretty, really! Thanks for this post.
    Ann

Your Comments Are Welcome

