Albert Cuyp Market: Amsterdam’s Largest Open-Air Street Market

Albert Cuyp Market, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Albert Cuyp Market on Albert Cuypstraat (in the De Pijp (“The Pipe”) neighborhood) is Amsterdam’s largest open-air street market with nearly 300 vendors selling just about everything one might expect, including hot foods, meats, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, spices, chocolate, sweets, flowers, plants, household goods, clothing and accessories, and so much more.

Prices can be quite low, but I thought chances were likely that you get what you pay for. I happily spent €12 for a purple cloche-style hat, but also spent time scrutinizing the quality (which was not great, but adequate for its price and purpose). My husband and I shared a Belgian waffle, hot off the iron, with chocolate sauce and whipped cream. So delicious! We also tried freshly made stroopwafel, but decided it  isn’t our thing. We (and by “we” I mean “me”) would have liked to make other purchases, too, but our airline baggage limit saved my husband’s wallet from further damage.

Albert Cuyp Market, Amsterdam, The NetherlandsBesides the shopping and the eating, the Albert Cuyp Market had so many things to see, including the people, and made for an enjoyable afternoon out in Amsterdam.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Amsterdam, Food, People, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Albert Cuyp Market: Amsterdam’s Largest Open-Air Street Market

  1. What memories….purchased my best-ever clogs there…and a loden wool jacket…that I still have!! Ahhh…memories….thanks!!

  2. Barbara Backer-Gray says:

    Memories indeed. And I lived in the Pijp before we emigrated to Australia. I miss doing my groceries at the market more than anything. Can’t believe you didn’t like the stroopwafel, though.

    • I can understand how grocery shopping in the market could have been quite a neat experience with lots of options in a relatively small space. I was surprised that we didn’t care for the stroopwafel, because it seemed like all parts yummy goodness, but it had a strange aftertaste that wasn’t to my husband’s and my liking. It wasn’t bad, just not worth the calories.

  3. Pingback: Amsterdam’s Floating Flower Market | Sat Nav and Cider

  4. Pingback: 10 Things I Love About Amsterdam | Girl Meets World

Your Comments Are Welcome

