Lake of Love and Color

Minnewater at Night, Bruges, BelgiumMinnewater at Night, Bruges, Belgium.

Minnewater, which translates to “Lake of Love,” is a small lake just a short walk from the main squares of Bruges. After visiting Minnewater during the day, I would have agreed with “Lake of Lovely,” with its charming views and elegant swans, but didn’t see a lot of intimacy or canoodling among the throngs of tourists and park-goers.

Nighttime, on the other hand, showed me what the name is all about. The area was practically empty even though Christmas markets were in full swing just a few streets over. Illuminated darkness and quiet. A lone couple sharing an umbrella as they crossed the bridge over Minnewater. Isn’t it romantic?

When I took this photo, having no tripod, I steadied my camera as best I could, then zoomed in for the shot. Unfortunately, the lines weren’t crisp enough for my liking, but, straight off, the photo reminded me of a painting, so I played around in Photoshop Elements and discovered that I liked the result of the “dry brush” artistic filter. At first glance, my husband couldn’t tell the two versions apart (they do look remarkably similar), but, on closer inspection, the edges looked sharper whereas the overall image looked a little softer. To me, it now really does look more like a painting than a photograph. What do you think of the result? Do you like the effect or would you have preferred to see the original photo?

Minnewater at Night, Bruges, BelgiumThis is a photographic view of the same area along with a bit of the surroundings. Don’t you just want to be beside Minnewater at night? I know I do.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Belgium, Buildings, Destinations, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lake of Love and Color

  1. Gracie says:

    Very nice. I do like the “dry brush” effect you added on the image, it does make it look like a painting 🙂

  2. avian101 says:

    Both pictures are terrific, my favorite is the first one! You did a good job with PS. I love the result.
    🙂

  3. leiah1231 says:

    I like the effect! I have never been at night, too bad!

  4. Shutterbug Sage says:

    I LOVE the first shot. It may be the most romantic image I have ever seen!

  5. megtraveling says:

    These are simply beautiful pictures!

  6. Pingback: Tower Over Minnewater | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

