Crystal Webs and the Benefits of Insomnia

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandSpider Web Covered in Frozen Crystals (Dec. 2012).

My husband usually takes out the garbage for pick up early in the morning, but on last week’s pick-up day he was away on a business trip, so the chore fell to me. Sometime after 2 a.m. I was still awake but thinking I should at least try to get some sleep. In order for me not to have to wake up early I pulled the rubbish bin to the curb. Frozen mist was falling, glittering in the street lamp’s light. It really did look like bits of falling glitter.

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandI could see my breath as I walked back around the side of the house to close the garage door before grabbing the compost bin in the garden. I went out my front door to place the compost bin next to the rubbish bin when I noticed scads of crystallized spider webs. I never knew there were so many spider webs around! All along the fences, in the shrubs, hanging from lights up and down the street.

I imagine you know what happens next.

Crystalized Spider Web, England

There I was in the middle of the night snapping pictures on my stoop while in my pyjamas and a heavy coat. I first tried to take pictures without a flash, but the web kept undulating in a gentle breeze.

I ended up taking photos using both of my cameras, each with flash. I still haven’t figured out my Canon EOS 550D and wasn’t having good luck with auto focus, so I used auto mode with manual focus. The first image and the image above were taken with my Sony DSC-HX9V. The rest were taken with the Canon. I hope I’m a more adept photographer the next time frozen mist should fall, but I was pretty pleased with the images I got this time.

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandHere, I love the drape.

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandAnd here, the sparkling detail.

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandIn this one I can practically feel the tension.

Crystalized Spider Web, EnglandAnd this one reminds me of jewelry. (I upped color saturation on this one to bring out the pinks and greens). Too bad it melts so quickly.

And to think that if I’d been snuggled in my bed like normal people, I wouldn’t have been up to see such a natural wonder and so alert that I could spend about an hour and a half taking photos, paying no mind to the ticking clock. Insomnia is not good, but it isn’t all bad either.

*The images in this post are of one spider web beside my front door under our handrail.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Crystal Webs and the Benefits of Insomnia

  1. Monique says:

    Amazing! Who would have guessed taking out the rubbish could be so magical?

  2. avian101 says:

    Great post! First time I see a spider web frosted. 🙂

  3. Mesmerizing and beautiful! So well-captured. I love the one with all the tension–all the signs of struggles stilled.

  4. Very cool! (Also love the mental image of you in pajamas and winter coat snapping photos in the middle of the night. Good for you!)

    • Thanks! I just realized that I crossed over and didn’t even know it. Before posting, I checked how to spell pajamas because it didn’t look right when I typed it in, but the spelling was right…yes, if I were British! Soon I’ll lose my Z’s and start adding U’s. 😉

  5. seekraz says:

    Way cool…life’s little wonders….

  6. Vicky says:

    Those are excellent photos 🙂
    It always amazes me the amount of webs that become visible on a frosty, or even foggy day.

    Don’t think I’ll be turning out if a warm bed to take photos at that time of day though LOL

    • Thanks, Vicky. I wish I could say the same about the warm bed, but because I don’t have much of a choice I’ll take the hit for all the “normal” people and let you all know photographically what’s happening at 3 am. 🙂

  7. Barbara Backer-Gray says:

    Absolutely fabulous! I’m sharing!

  8. Pingback: Spooky Freeze | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

