Sunset Cliffs Surfers

Sunset Cliffs Surfers, San DiegoSurfers at Sunset Cliffs, Point Loma, San Diego, California.

Sunset Cliffs Surfer, San DiegoUnlike Sunset Cliffs, when I learned to surf at Pacific Beach, San Diego, the small waves washed ashore on a sandy, smooth beach. Even in such a coddling environment, the whole experience felt very daring to me. I waded out to waist-deep water before hopping on my board and paddling out to catch a wave.

Sunset Cliffs Surfer, San DiegoIf my first exposure to surfing had been as rocky and treacherous as Sunset Cliffs, I don’t know if I ever would have had the courage to get in the water.

Sunset Cliffs Surfer, San DiegoBut on this day, Christmas day, I watched as surfer after surfer stood, waiting for the right moment to hop on his board and skim across the water’s surface before paddling out to sea…

Sunset Cliffs Surfers, San DiegoWhere he would then wait for the perfect wave.

When I learned to surf, I thought that the waiting would be a bore. I thought I would get antsy and finally just catch any wave just to do something. But as it turned out, I and my fellow surf-class surfers had plenty to chat about as we waited, to the point that sometimes I hoped a good wave wouldn’t come so we could continue to lie on our boards, soaking in the sun, sharing stories, laughing, bonding.

Sunset Cliffs Surfer, San DiegoBut then a wave would come along and we all knew it was time. It took quite a few tries, but when I finally stood up on my board it was exhilarating…way better than sunning and socializing. Then, I understood.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Landscape, Nature, Photography, San Diego, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunset Cliffs Surfers

  1. FairClaire says:

    Wonderful photos..:)

  2. Wow those are absolutely amazing and breathtaking! A little scary though lol! I’m not as brave as you are 🙂

  3. leiah says:

    Did you learn now or before?

  4. Amazing shots. Thanks for sharing =)

Your Comments Are Welcome

