Early Birds and Blossoms

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013 Cherry Blossoms, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom (February 2013).

Female Blackbird, Turdus merula, Gloucestershire 2332I took my camera with me today to see what I might see and, happily, I came upon a bird standing very still among leafless stalks and dead leaves. It cocked its head, but otherwise remained motionless, allowing me to take several photos.

I believe this bird is a Blackbird (Turdus merula), which is, apparently, one of Gloucestershire’s most familiar thrushes. If I’m wrong, please let me know.

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013So I was very happy with my unexpected bird sighting right next to the park’s path. Even more unexpected were the cherry blossoms. It’s still winter for goodness’ sake! Don’t they know it’s cold outside?

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013I just posted about the blooming snowdrops at Sherborne Estate, which herald the winding down of winter and the approach of spring. Perhaps the cherry blossoms are confused, or maybe they’re just a very competitive bunch this year.

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013

Cherry Blossom, Gloucestershire, February 2013Whatever the reason for the emergence of cherry blossoms, I don’t mind. I’m just thankful for a bit of spring on an otherwise wintery day.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Animals, Cotswolds, Flowers, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Early Birds and Blossoms

  1. little1mill says:

    Cherries are just coming into blossom in Devon as well as Gloucestershire. Yes the bird looks like a female Blackbird. The RSPB site http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/g/ is a good place to look when trying to identify a bird.

    • Thanks for the information and the link. I did look through several sights, but had some trouble finding local birds by sight as the sites only had common and Latin names listed. I like how the RSPB site has names with pictures followed by pictures. I will definitely be using this as a resource in the future.

  2. Your photos are so beautiful! I love how delicate the blossom seems, but, with the bare branches in the background, you can see how strong it must be too. I love how characterful the bird looks as well!

  3. Pingback: Nostalgic Cherry Blossoms | Sat Nav and Cider

  4. megtraveling says:

    It’s lovely to see those flowers!

Your Comments Are Welcome

