Sherborne Sheep

Sheep beside Sherborne Brook, Gloucestershire, United KingdomSheep beside Sherborne Brook, Sherborne, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom.

After several much-needed days of sunshine, I find myself under grey skies once again, yearning for spring, a cup of hot chocolate, and something to snuggle. So I mentally cozied up to some fluffy, fuzzy sheep. Not necessarily the best thing to do in real life, but they do the trick mentally. At least for today anyway.

These sheep were grazing in a field beside Sherborne Brook just north of the village of Sherborne.

Sheep beside Sherborne Brook, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Sheep at Sherborne, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Sheep beside Sherborne Brook, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Sheep beside Sherborne Brook, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Sheep beside Sherborne Brook, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Animals, Cotswolds, Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sherborne Sheep

  1. My Swiss born Father-in-Law bought me “sheeps” (I was a weaver then) so I’d never run out of wool. He did all the shearing. I did all the washing of the wool and spinning. We made a great team! Your photos bring back so many sweet, sweet memories of our shared “sheeps” venture…..
    Thank you.

    • Thanks for sharing your heart-warming story. I feel doubly happy for reading about such a wonderful relationship (and around “sheeps,” no less) and that my photos stirred such nice memories.

      You are a kindred spirit, I believe. I used to weave (when I had the space and time), but still have my spinning wheel in the living room and continue to crochet using my spun yarn. Not as often as I used to or probably would like, but a nice diversion when I can. And I, too, have a soft spot in my heart for sheep, always reminding me of a wonderful trip I took to the UK with my mother many years ago. Do you still spin?

      • We are kindred in many spirits……
        When we moved to Richmond, Surrey I retired several looms and gave my wheel to my daughter….knowing UK flat space would not house such large pieces (mostly the looms). No, I no longer spin (I do knit simple patterns) but my daughter now has three wheels…spins and knits like a professional. Once we returned to US, I opened a dressmaking shop and now have more than enough fabric to last longer than my life-time, and most likely yours, too! It’s all about the fibre and texture of surfaces…much like life.
        I am “of the faith” one can never have enough…..
        XORaye

Your Comments Are Welcome

