Tintagel’s Southern Cliffs

Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United Kingdom View from Tintagel’s Southern Cliffs, Cornwall, United Kingdom.

Tintagel Castle, the legendary birthplace of King Arthur and the one-time seat of Cornish kings and chieftains, is steeped in history and folklore. With so much history stretching back into the hazy, distant past, I fear every square inch of Tintagel Castle holds some significance. But, even if Tintagel Castle were not connected with its historic gems, its outstanding beauty would be reason enough to make it a top Cornish destination. This post focuses only on the area atop and views from Tintagel’s southern cliffs.

View from the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomThis is a southern-facing view. I was happy to find such interesting rocks. I think they make for a nice picture and a great excuse not to get any closer to the cliff’s edge.

Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomTo give an idea of the drop, I stood on the flat-ish area on the very top. Notice the flat area one step down from the top. If you look closely, you can see…

People on the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United Kingdomtwo certifiably crazy people.

View from the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomThankfully, there’s no need to get too close to the edge to enjoy the distant views.

View from the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomBut as I was enjoying just such a view, I recognized that not everyone shared my aversion to flirting with an early demise.

Couple on the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomDid this couple really need to go down to the cliff’s edge just to take a picture of what I’d just taken from a comfortably safe distance? Was it worth risking life and limb? Or am I really just a total chicken?

Couple on the Southern Cliffs of Tintagel, Cornwall, United KingdomLuckily for me, I stayed where I was, because I adore this photo that captured a tender moment in a stunning setting.

I suppose Tintagel Castle’s visitors enjoy the southern cliffs each in his or her own way, creating memories while leaving behind footprints to join the march of history. My footsteps likely will be the ones farthest from the edge, but my memories will be no less spectacular or enduring.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, England, Landscape, People, Photography, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tintagel’s Southern Cliffs

  1. Such gorgeous, dramatic scenery! I don’t think I would have got so close to the edge either :p

  2. only1katieb says:

    Great pics. I, like the peeps in your pic, would be near the edge 😉

  3. Marlow Travels says:

    I actually never knew that King Arthur had his roots here, so thank you for sharing that bit of info and the gorgeous photos 🙂

  4. Vicky says:

    From your previous Cornish post and this one, it looks like you had a amazing time, and so lucky with the weather too 🙂

  5. I’m here in Cornwall for the week but given the current weather, I’m reluctant to go anywhere near a cliff for fear of being blown off! Your photos might be as close as I get.

  6. So gorgeous! Great place to escape 🙂

Your Comments Are Welcome

