Almost Like Being in Cozumel

Jeep at Cozumel East Coast BeachOur rent-a-jeep on the East Coast of Cozumel (Jan. 2007).

This past weekend brought two days of snow, wind, and chilly temperatures. Yes, it is technically spring, but it’s still feeling like winter. England is not special in this respect. According to the weather channel, the continuing chill and all that comes with it are blanketing large swaths of the States right now. Mainland Europe isn’t being spared either. Shall we all throw another log on the fire, pull up that down comforter, or pour another cup of steaming cocoa? Or, shall we look at some photos to remind us of what sunshine is like?

In November, also feeling the chill, I posted Dreaming of Bermuda. In response, Raye from Jots from a Small Apt. put in a request for a late winter post for more sun, palm trees, blue water, and “almost like being there” warmth. I thought now might be a good time to honor that request so…this post goes out to Raye and all of you out there who are in need of some virtual sunshine. Enjoy Cozumel!

Cozumel Palace Timeshare, CozumelFor a much-needed holiday in January 2007, my husband and I chose to stay at the Cozumel Palace, an all-inclusive resort in San Miguel de Cozumel, which is the largest city on the island. We definitely enjoyed lounging by the pool, soaking up the sun while sipping tropical beverages, but there’s only so much sun a person’s winter-pale skin can take. So we rented a jeep and drove inland to visit the Mayan ruins of San Gervasio located in the heart of Cozumel.

Road on CozumelThe hot, humid air turned refreshing as we sped down the road with the windows open.

San Gervasio Mayan Ruins, CozumelBut when we got to San Gervasio, we felt the full force of the tropical heat, I suspect, just as the Mayans must have experienced it so many years ago.

Hermit Crab at San Gervasio, CozumelThe ruins were extensive and fun to explore. We saw lots of lizards and other wildlife, including this hermit crab I found crawling up the wall of a ruin.

We took the time to visit the entire site, but were really feeling the heat by the end, so we continued on to the island’s eastern coast where the breeze blew in off the ocean.

Bird on CozumelA bird on the side of the road.

Cozumel East Coast BeachAhhh, the beach!

Cozumel East Coast Beach

East Coast Beach, Cozumel

Cozumel East Coast Beach

Cozumel East Coast Beach

Cozumel East Coast BeachI feel a little happier and warmer. How about you?

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Animals, Cozumel, Landscape, Nature, Photography, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Almost Like Being in Cozumel

  1. avian101 says:

    Beautiful beaches! Wow! 🙂

  2. I’m still wearing my insulated long-johns, here, on my side of the Pacific Northwest…but after looking at your beach snaps and feeling the warm breezes slap my face and blow my hair to ruin…I think I feel a tan-line coming on! I knew I loved you from afar. Now I know why……
    XXOOXRaye

  3. Monique says:

    Pour me a drink! I can almost feel the sand between my toes.

  4. I wish I lived there! Awesome beaches

  5. goldhit says:

    Painfully beautiful. I am ready for a tropical vacation! We should go on a cruise together sometime!

  6. Greg Bell says:

    We also did an island tour when on a cruise visiting Cozumel. It was very nice, we love that other side of the island and of course the Margaritas at Coconuts. We were on the Dune Buggy Tour with Cozumel Water Sports and snorkeling was great. I do not remember the location but Cozumel definitely has one of the best snorkeling ever!

Your Comments Are Welcome

