My Secret “Room” at the Alhambra

View of Granada from Alhambra's Generalife Garden, SpainView of Granada from the Alhambra’s Generalife Gardens, Spain.

The Alhambra Palace and its Generalife Gardens is one of my favorite places on earth. Ever since I visited the Alhambra Palace over twenty years ago, I have wanted to return. All those years ago, I visited the Palace and its gardens with a tour group, so my time spent there was limited, rushed, and very structured. No lingering or daydreaming, just quick site consumption, experiencing as much as possible in as little time as possible.

Ever since, when I close my eyes and think of a peaceful place, I often return in my mind to one of the garden “rooms” in the Generalife Gardens. I expected that my memories of the garden were imperfect, considering the quick visit and the years that have since passed, so I was a little trepidacious about my visit to the Alhambra last Monday. I was so looking forward to seeing what I had been visualizing, but apprehensive that the actual would not live up to the often-revisited memories. I had no reason to fear, because the Alhambra proved to be all that I remembered and more.

Hedges in Alhambra's Generalife Garden, Granada, SpainIn one section of the Gardens, tall hedges form outdoor rooms, with each archway revealing a unique and special place.

Room in Alhambra's Generalife Garden, Granada, SpainOne of my favorite memories was of a room with a quiet bench and a view of the Alhambra and the city of Granada. Although the Gardens were swarming with people, I did manage to find just such a room during my recent visit.

Room in Alhambra's Generalife Garden, Granada, SpainA quiet space that I can lock away in my mind and visit as often as I like for years to come.

View of Granada from Alhambra's Generalife Garden, SpainMentally luxuriating in the extraordinary view amid a gentle breeze and birdsong. This should tide me over for another twenty years or so, but I hope I don’t have to wait that long for my next visit to the Alhambra and its gardens.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Spain and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Secret “Room” at the Alhambra

  1. Snapshooter says:

    I’ve always been intrigued by the Alhambra…it looks gorgeous and serene in these photos… πŸ™‚

  2. avian101 says:

    One of the magical places in Spain! I love that place!
    I suggest to you to view and listen to and dream just like the composer did: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgy0d2lJv9M

  3. Reblogged this on El Viajero de Sevilla. and commented:
    La encantadora Granada

  4. leiah says:

    I want to go with you next time!

  5. What a gorgeous place! I want to escape there πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Room With a View of Alhambra | Sat Nav and Cider

Your Comments Are Welcome

