Ireland’s Fanore Beach

Galway Bay Beach, IrelandMisty Day at Fanore Beach, Ireland.

Along an Irish coastal road (R477) south of Galway Bay is Fanore Beach. As home to a surf school, the waters just to the south and outside of the frame of this picture were filled with a cluster of surfers of varying skill levels. However, besides the surfer-cluster, the beach was relatively human free. Looking at this now, I want to take a stroll along the beach and enjoy the solitude.

A while back, as I went through my photos of the Irish coast, I came across this photo and stopped. There was something about it. I even got it ready to post, but I never did.

Today, I’ve been in something of a misty mood, so I revisited that same batch of photos. As I scrolled through them, I stopped at this one and thought, “Ooh.” It’s subtle, but there was something about it. Thinking maybe I should post it, I went to reduce it for upload and noticed that I already had. If I oohed at the same photo twice, independently, I think I must like that photo. So I decided to share it and hope you “ooh” too.

The day was misty and drizzly. At the time, I would have liked better weather, but my understanding is that the west coast of Ireland is often misty and drizzly. Now, I like to think that maybe I captured the coastal essence and that’s what draws me in.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Ireland, Landscape, Nature, Photography, Water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ireland’s Fanore Beach

  1. South of Galway…..Doolan. Have you been?
    Two pubs that have the best “jamming” music on the planet…..

  2. yourothermotherhere says:

    A day to be next to a cozy peat fire with a woolen sweater and a mug of tea.

  3. Reblogged this on creativeexcellence and commented:
    I always wanted to travel to Ireland…this blog gives me wings to reach and feel what it would be like to be at Ireland…

Your Comments Are Welcome

