A True Sign of Spring

Fly, United KingdomGreetings on this fine, sunny, spring day. Wow! It feels so good to be able to say that!

My husband and I just returned from a low-key yet really enjoyable holiday in Dublin, Ireland. Even though I took far fewer photos than usual, I’m slowly going through them, wanting to post, but not quite ready yet. Why? Because ever since our return, the weather has been so incredibly beautiful that I can’t bring myself to do anything other than sit in our back garden and soak up the sunshine. And take a few photos of nearby blooms and bugs.

Not long ago I ordered some lens attachments, one of which is a 10x Macro that screws onto the end of my camera lens. It doesn’t get as close up as I’d like and I have to focus manually, which can be quite a challenge when the depth of field is so narrow, but I’ve been having fun with it and its results, including the photo of this fly, which looks strangely metallic and more reminiscent of a sci fi creature than of a welcome, if somewhat pesky, sign of spring’s arrival. At last.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Insects, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A True Sign of Spring

  1. leiah says:

    Yay for spring!

Your Comments Are Welcome

