Bubble-Blowing Mini Fly

Tiny Fly Blowing Bubble on Flower BudA tiny fly blowing a bubble while standing on top of a tiny bud on a flowering tree. I tried to find out what kind of flowering tree and what kind of fly by looking through images on the Internet, but haven’t been able to identify either so far.

Tree Flowers beside Pin Head 1703

To give a sense of scale, the bud on which the fly is standing is slightly smaller than the head of a dressmaker’s pin.

Tiny Fly Blowing Bubble on Flower Bud

I captured the fly images as I was playing around with my Canon EOS 550D with a 10x filter attached to the 18-55mm lens. My focus had been the profusion of tiny flowers and buds all over a tree in my garden. Although the flowers resemble cherry blossoms, the blossoms are actually much smaller, hence the magnifying filter. Looking through the lens while focusing on clusters of tiny blossoms, I was surprised by all the tiny life I discovered. Aphids, tiny beetles, spiders, and, of course, this mini fly.

I noticed this fly grooming itself while standing on a flower bud. But then I realized that it was beginning to “blow” a bubble. Focusing manually as best I could, I took a slew of photos with mental fingers crossed. Later, as I scrolled through the images, I was delighted by what my camera had captured and chuckling because the fly’s eyeballs looked an awful lot like big cheeks, which made the fly resemble, strangely, a teenage mutant ninja turtle blowing a bubble.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Flowers, Insects, Photography, United Kingdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bubble-Blowing Mini Fly

  1. eremophila says:

    Great catch! I remember how excited I was the first time I saw a fly blowing bubbles – they do this for cooling purposes by the way.

    • I did wonder about the purpose of the bubble, thinking it had something to do with digestion, but know I know better! I would not have guessed it was to cool themselves, but I can now see how it might be something like a dog panting. I love learning new things, so thank you for your kind and informative comment! 🙂

  2. leiah says:

    The first photo could be a Google earth photo! (or something like that-hubby follows them on Twitter-they have amazing earth photos)

Your Comments Are Welcome

