Leckhampton Light

Leckhampton Hill, Cheltenham, GloucestershireAfternoon View from Leckhampton Hill, Cheltenham.

My legs ache as I attempt to descend stairs without looking like an invalid. Such is my state after hiking up Leckhampton Hill a few days ago to catch the view so fondly remembered from a long-ago walk. Last time the pace was leisurely along gentle slopes. This time I ascended from the north side of the escarpment. Reaching the top, I was happy to note the excellent visibility; however, the landscape seemed a bit dreary under the clouds. But then a ray of sunlight broke through the clouds, illuminating the hillside. I love moments like these, which are so worthy of the price of an arduous trek.

Not only was I pleased with the image captured, but I’m happy it has prompted me, finally, to post again. I’m truly shocked to note that I haven’t posted anything since mid-November. I have images uploaded and some text written. I’ve got a backlog of images from multiple trips since. I think I can only chalk my absence up to a busy schedule along with a bit of SAD. My first two English winters didn’t have this effect on me, but this winter’s been a hard one. I hope the longer days and sporadic sunshine will improve my mood and motivation and re-invigorate my blogging efforts.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Cotswolds, England, Landscape, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Leckhampton Light

  1. Heyjude says:

    Nice to see you again 🙂 I was wondering where you had got to, thought maybe you had returned to the USA. Winter is not my favourite time either, I hate the greyness all the time and it has been especially grey this year since Christmas. But spring will soon be here (along with snow probably) and flowers will be blooming so I hope you (and me) will have a chance to explore I look forward to the images from your recent trips too.
    Jude xx.

    • Thanks, Jude! I thought it was just me thinking this winter has been particularly dreary and depressing. But you are right about spring arriving soon. Snowdrops and crocuses are out and already cheering up the place. I can’t wait for tree foliage and longer days.

      • Heyjude says:

        Yes, I think it is the short days that do the damage to me. Dark by 4 pm. makes it a very long evening, and I hate it. I’d really just like to hibernate in winter 🙂

  2. Walking/hiking hasn’t been too pleasant recently, what with all the mud and squelchy underfoot conditions. I’m looking forward to some springy turf.

    • My husband and I purchased new boots for rambles as the recent outings have been heavy on the mud. My husband commented that perhaps he should have purchased knee-high boots instead. I’m hoping those won’t be necessary for much longer. 😉

  3. avian101 says:

    I’m glad to hear from you again! 🙂

  4. I love it when the sun does this on hillsides 🙂 You really captured this beautifully

  5. leiah1231 says:

    Good to see you again!

  6. Monique says:

    Ah, beautiful! And I’m so glad to hear your voice and see through your eyes again!

  7. Yes, missed you. Felt your “gone missing” presence was temporary. Hopefully so. I’ve been talking with girlfriends to the south of you…it has, indeed, been a long and hard winter for every one. Keep your chin up, Sweet-Tea…Penny in Richmond, Surrey let me know today the daffs are up…a clear sign spring is not too far away. Will be coming over in May to celebrate a wadge of birthdays…home again, home again, jiggety jog…

  8. Soccer Mom says:

    Long time no see!!!

  9. Hoping all is well. You truly are missed…especially by me. You live in a place I long to be…everyday. Such is life…yes? We don’t always get what we wish for. Like you I’ve moved again as well…which is a difficult process under any circumstances. Think of me…thinking of you…and wishing I were there. That alone should make you smile…regardless of the weather. I see you “dropped” by JOTS which is why I’m sending you best wishes….always. Raye

    • Thank you, Raye. It’s so good to hear from you. I have been very negligent, not feeling much like attending to my blog while in a seemingly never-ending funk. Good thing for longer days and better weather! I hope you are settling in to your new home. Moving is always difficult. It’s now been 8 months for me and I’m just finally feeling like life is returning to a new normal. May we both have happier and more peaceful days ahead.

Your Comments Are Welcome

