The English Adventure Continues…In Yorkshire

Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, Nidderdale

Castlestead and Scenery near Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom.

Greetings from Northern England! I am happy to report that the Hubster’s and my British visas were extended for a few more years, so we decided to spend that time experiencing a different part of the country.

We took a road trip up north for a house-hunting trip in mid-August in preparation for our move from the Cotswolds in September. Between house showings, we drove into the Yorkshire Dales to get a taste of what awaited us in Yorkshire.

Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, NidderdaleAt first glance, I found the scenery to be very similar to the Cotswolds. The hills seemed a little bit bigger and steeper, but the rolling green fields with separating rock walls, occasionally dotted with livestock such as sheep or cows, were just as I had grown accustomed to seeing in the Cotswolds.

The villages were equally quaint, scattered among the hills and dales.

Public Footpath Sign in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, NidderdaleThen, just outside of the town of Pateley Bridge, we turned a corner and were surprised by expanses of heather. We parked in a lay by at a bend in Nought Bank Road (Google Maps Lat./Long.: 54.069150, -1.763522/54°04’08.9″N 1°45’48.7″W).

Heather in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, NidderdaleSimilarities with the picturesque Cotswolds certainly exist, but seeing the swaths of heather was a wholly new experience.

Heather in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, Nidderdale

The air carried a faint, delicate fragrance. We were a little early for the full show, but enough was on display to please the senses.

Heather in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, NidderdaleAfter following a footpath for a short distance, I glimpsed the valley of Nidderdale. (Being new to the area, I’m not sure of the proper way to refer to a dale. Perhaps it is the dale of Nidderdale? Or just Nidderdale?)

Heather in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, NidderdaleI breathed in the fragrant, fresh air as I watched shadows move across the land. I smiled, thinking, “Soon, I will be calling Yorkshire my home.”

Farmhouse in Yorkshire DalesAs the drive continued, I started noticing other distinct differences between the Yorkshire Dales and the Cotswolds. For example, the building stones being grey instead of the characteristic honey color of Cotswold villages.

Rocks in Yorkshire Dales, North YorkshireWe passed big rocks strewn among the heather, giving this area a wilder, less civilized character. These stones reminded me of our visit to the North Yorkshire Moors a few years back, which specifically included the Bridestones as a must-see destination. I don’t remember seeing large boulders like these in the Cotswolds.

Heather and Sky in Yorkshire Dales near Pateley Bridge, Nidderdale

Also, the sky seems somehow bigger up here. A great enticement for a cloud lover like me.

I loved living in the Cotswolds. I wouldn’t change the experience for anything. However, whether I wanted to or not, it was time to go. Happily, from everything I’ve seen so far, I think I’m going to like living in Yorkshire too.

The English adventure continues….

 

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Clouds and Sky, England, Flowers, Landscape, Nature, Photography, Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The English Adventure Continues…In Yorkshire

  1. avian101 says:

    Great pictures! It’s nice to hear from you again! 🙂

  2. Welcome to ‘God’s Own Country” !
    As for ‘dales’ – they are the valleys through which rivers run. Most of the time the ‘dale’ takes the name of the river that runs though it. – so ‘Nidderdale’ is named after the River Nidd. Another is Wharfedale, after the River Wharfe. Like most of these things there are exceptions – Wikipedia has a reasonable summary.
    I’m sure you’ll have a great time.
    (You may be interested in this blog http://smackedpentax.wordpress.com/ – there are a few others too)

    • A very belated thanks for the warm welcome, Stephen. And thank you for explaining the whole “dales” question, too. I had a look at the blog you recommended and will likely spend more time there as it will give me lots of ideas about where I might visit along with some beautiful photography of the surrounding areas. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

  3. Vicky says:

    You’ve chosen to move to the best county in England 😊
    Born and brought up in a Yorkshire, I now live in Worcestershire, often spending time in the nearby Cotswolds.
    The difference to me is the Cotswolds are what I’d call chocolate box beauty, whereas Yorkshire has a rugged beauty.
    Your comment about the sky made me smile, it’s vastness that extends over the moors is second to none.
    Enjoy your new life in a Yorkshire…..I envy you.

  4. Monique says:

    So lovely to see through your eyes again! And that heather — breathtaking.

  5. Superb photos…you have caught the beautiful purple of the heather so well. Welcome 🙂

Your Comments Are Welcome

