Thruscross Forest Path

Trees at Thruscross ResevoirForest trail beside Thruscross Reservoir, North Yorkshire, England.

A new friend and I ventured into the Yorkshire countryside to take photos at Thruscross Reservoir. While the water’s edge was worthy of attention, I was equally drawn to the surrounding nature, including this forest path.

Trees at Thruscross ResevoirA chilly breeze ran through the branches followed by a quiet and mild calm when the shifting shadows slowed to a ripple. A held breath. Then the wind began again.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, England, Nature, Photography, Trees, Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thruscross Forest Path

  1. Great shots…I know this so well. Did you go all the way around?

    • We didn’t walk far…only from Coarse Lane, past the old mill ruin, to the small waterfall and back. The ground was muddy in parts, what with the rain then hail then rain then finally sunshine. 🙂 A walk around the reservoir will have to wait for another day. Thanks for commenting.

      • It is quite a nice walk and there is a village at the bottom of the reservoir (I don’t know if you were aware or not) and in severe drought you can walk around what is left of it. Very creepy.

        • I had heard about the village last being seen around ’95? It would be a sight to see. From the weather I’ve experienced in the 8 months I’ve been here, I can’t imagine a drought in this part of the world.

  2. Vicky says:

    I’ve just stumbled across this post.
    I uploaded a video to YouTube that my dad took of Thruscross in 1995 when the remains of the village of West End were visible.
    It’s here if you’re interested: http://youtu.be/PLJXMSvzEzA

    • Thanks for the link, Vicky. What a shocking difference in water level compared to now. I was especially surprised to see intact structures such as the bridge that had been fully immersed. I wonder what it would all look like now, 20 years later, if the water level were to fall again. Very interesting.

      • Vicky says:

        I’m not sure on the exact date that the village of West End was flooded for Thruscross, but I know it was sometime in the mid 60’s, so the bridge had been already been underwater 25-30 years in my dads video.
        I have childhood memories of going over the bridge on our days out to the moors, and also the eerie sight of the church steeple appearing one summer after the flooding, when the water was low. I understand it was demolished totally not long after as folk found it upsetting to see. Again, I’m unsure of the date.
        Smackedpentax will probably be able to fill in dates etc.

Your Comments Are Welcome

