Seeing Cabbage

B&W CabbageSavoy Cabbage

Seldom do I have the opportunity to see something common and ordinary in a whole new way. During my photography class, I was introduced to the work of Edward Weston. I will never see vegetables in the same way again.

My favorite image was a black and white photograph of a single cabbage leaf. Edward Weston captured remarkable grace and beauty using one leaf. One imperfect leaf. One perfectly imperfect leaf.

Mr. Weston inspired me to see what I could see. I, too, chose a cabbage leaf, but my attempt was not to duplicate his work. Instead, I went for harsher contrast using a savoy cabbage leaf, which is angular and architectural as compared to the flowing fabric-like leaf Mr. Weston used.

I share a few of my favorites here.

B&W Cabbage

B&W Cabbage

B&W CabbageWhereas Mr. Weston’s image was of flowing beauty and grace, my experiment seemed to result in something closer to ominous mystery.  Oh, multifaceted cabbage, how you intrigue me!

I hope this post inspires you to look at some of Edward Weston’s photographs if you aren’t familiar with his work and, perhaps, to have another look at some of the everyday objects in your life.

About satnavandcider

An American expat living in England, exploring the United Kingdom and Europe through five senses and a camera lens.
This entry was posted in All Posts, Photography, Photography lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing Cabbage

  1. Leah Eijbersen says:

    Loved this post! Are you in a class now? I will look up some of his work. Date: Mon, 2 Nov 2015 16:15:11 +0000 To: leahbarrios@hotmail.com

Your Comments Are Welcome

